Saturday, June 16, 2012

CFDA Awards 2012

Zach Posen, Crystal Renn
Zac Posen & Crystal Renn

On June 5th, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) paid tribute to the winners and honorees of the 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards and commemorated the organization’s 50th anniversary at Lincoln Center, New York City. Saturday Night Live’s head writer and anchor Seth Meyers was the host for the evening.

Hilary Rhoda
Hilary Rhoda

The evening’s Womenswear Designer of the Year honors went to Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row, presented by Jessica Chastain. The award for Menswear Designer of the Year was presented by Matt Bomer to Billy Reid. Reed Krakoff took home the Accessory Designer of the Year Award, presented by Jessica Paré.

Tabitha Simmons, Karen Elson
Swarovski Award Nominee Tabitha Simmons and Karen Elson

For the eleventh year in a row, the evening was generously underwritten by Swarovski.

Rachel Zoe
Rachel Zoe

“This year’s awards were particularly special,” said CFDA President Diane von Fürstenberg. “We honored the best talent working in American fashion today and celebrated CFDA’s 50th Anniversary and the impact of our family of designers.”

Alexander Wang Carine Roitfeld
Alexander Wang & Carine Roitfeld

“A CFDA Fashion Award is one of the most coveted awards in our industry,” said CFDA CEO Steven Kolb. “This annual event is the one night we come together to celebrate our own.”

Lily Collins
Swarovski Award Presenter Lily Collins

Lily Collins presented the three Swarovski Awards, which honor and recognize emerging talent. The Swarovski Award for Womenswear was given to Joseph Altuzarra. The Swarovski Award for Menswear was presented to Phillip Lim. The Swarovski Award for Accessory Design went to Tabitha Simmons. Recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from the company as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative crystal products and applications for fashion.

Joseph Altazurra, Kate Bosworth
Joseph Altazurra & Kate Bosworth

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Tommy Hilfiger by Anna Wintour for his consistent, creative influence on fashion. The Founder’s Award, established in memory of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert was given to Andrew Rosen by Kenneth Cole.

Diane von Fürstenberg
Diane von Fürstenberg

The Media Award for excellence in journalism, originally created in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, was presented to digital journalists Scott Schuman and Garance Doré by Pharrell Williams. Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garçons was recognized with this year’s International Award. Johnny Depp was given the Fashion Icon Award. Both Kawakubo’s and Depp’s award were presented by director John Waters.

Zoe Saldana, Prabal Gurung
Zoe Saldana & Prabal Gurung

Some of the most well known names in the fashion and social worlds were in attendance including CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg, CFDA CEO Steven Kolb, Alexander Wang, Antonio Azzuolo, Arizona Muse, Betsey Johnson, Billy Reid, Brian Atwood, Brad Goreski, Candice Swanepoel, Carolina Herrera, Catherine Malandrino, Cynthia Rowley, David Yurman, Derek Lam, Donna Karan, Doo-Ri Chung, Dree Hemingway, Eddie Borgo, Erin Beatty, Erin Wasson, Francisco Costa, Gilles Mendel, Grace Coddington, Italo Zucchelli, Jacquelyn Jablonski, Jason Wu, Jessica Stam, Jill Stuart, Johan Lindeberg, John Bartlett, John Varvatos, John Whitledge, Joseph Altuzarra, Kenneth Cole, Lana Marks, Lela Rose, Liu Wen, Lubov Azria, Marc Jacobs, Monique Lhuillier, Nadja Swarovski, Naeem Khan, Nicole Miller, Olivier Theyskens, Pamela Love, Peter Som, Phillip Lim, Reed Krakoff, Simon Spurr, Stuart Weitzman, Tabitha Simmons, Thom Browne, Tory Burch, Tracy Reese, Victoria Bartlett, Vivienne Tam, and Yigal Azrouël.

Ashley Olsen, Lauren Hutton, Mary-Kate Olsen
Ashley Olsen, Lauren Hutton, Mary-Kate Olsen

They joined other notables from the world of entertainment, music, and sport, such as Alison Mosshart, Bernadette Peters, Busy Philipps, Dakota Fanning, Devon Aoki, Gretchen Mol, Heather Graham, Jack Huston, Jennifer Tilly, Julianne Hough, Kate Bosworth, Lauren Hutton, Mandy Moore, Olympia Scarry, Padma Lakshmi, Shaun White, Solange Knowles, Sophia Bush, St. Vincent (Annie Clark), Victor Cruz, and Zoe Saldana.

Jessica Chastain
Jessica Chastain

The evening culminated at the Top of the Standard, at the Swarovski After Party celebrating all CFDA Award winners. The party, featuring music by DJ Mia Moretti, was attended by Alexander Wang, Antonio Azzuolo, Heather Graham, Jack Huston, Jennifer Tilly, John Waters, Julianne Hough, Kate Bosworth, Keren Craig, Marc Jacobs, Michael Bastian, Nadja Swarovski, Phillip Lim, Prabal Gurung, Rachel Zoe, Tabitha Simmons, et al.

Michael Kors, Joan Smalls
Michael Kors & Joan Smalls

The winners and honorees of the 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards:

Womenswear Designer of the Year : Mary-Kate & Ashley Olsen for The Row
Menswear Designer of the Year: Billy Reid
Accessory Designer of the Year: Reed Krakoff
Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Joseph Altuzarra
Swarovski Award for Menswear: Phillip Lim
Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Tabitha Simmons
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger
International Award: Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garçons
The Media Award: Scott Schuman and Garance Doré
The Founder’s Award: Andrew Rosen
Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp

Jack McCollough, Dakota Fanning, Lazaro Hernandez
Jack McCollough, Dakota Fanning, Lazaro Hernandez

Pictures courtesy of Swarovski /

Gosh, Alexander Wang, Zac Posen & Lazaro Hernandez are ridiculously good-looking and I love Karen Elson`s outfit!

Do you think about the choice of award winners? If you had been in the jury, who had you given the awards to?


  1. I only like lily outfit. Not fan of the rest


  2. Love the green outfit on karen Elson. High-waisted flare skirt and bra top!