Thursday, March 3, 2016

LMVH Prize 2016 Cocktail Reception

Delphine Arnault, Karl Lagerfeld & Karlie Kloss

A cocktail reception was held yesterday, March 2nd, to meet the LMVH Prize shortlisted designers and discover their collections.

Anne Sophie Mignaux

The third edition of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers has once again received nearly 1,000 entries from more than 50 countries.

Hamish Bowles, Christelle Koche,Virginia Smith & Tonne Goodman

This year, 23 talented young designers have been chosen as semi-finalists by the in-house selection committee, under the supervision of Delphine Arnault, who comments: “In 2016, the LVMH Prize welcomes candidates from Japan, China, the United States, Canada, England, Finland, Germany and France, as well as Malaysia and Iran. This is what defines the singularity of the LVMH Prize: it is the first fashion prize that is completely international and digital, and which can bring together in Paris individualities of such diverse, original stylistic expressions. Men’s fashions remain well represented and streetwear continues to make a statement without calling into question the high tradition of women’s ready-to-wear. As a leader in the industry, it is the LVMH Group’s responsibility to identify and help young designers grow.

Victoire de Castellane

Among the fashion designers selected for the third edition of the LVMH Prize, 6 are menswear designers, 7 design both women’s and men’s wear, and 10 are exclusively womenswear designers. In addition, two shortlisted candidates from the 2015 edition, Koché and Astrid Andersen have been selected again this year.

Sofia Sabchez de Betaj, Mira Duma, Gaia Repossi & Alexandre de Betak

The 23 shortlisted designers will now be invited to meet our panel of 41 international fashion experts. Eight finalists will be selected on March 2nd and 3rd in Paris. 

Aymeline Vallade

The Jury consists of Jonathan Anderson, Nicolas Ghesquière, Marc Jacobs, Karl Lagerfeld, Humberto Leon, Carol Lim, Phoebe Philo, Riccardo Tisci, Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie and Pierre-Yves Roussel.

Mikio Sakabe

The 23 shortlisted designers are 
Aalto, by Tuomas Merikoski. Womenswear presented in Paris. 
Alex Mullins, by Alex Mullins. Menswear presented in London. 
Alyx, by Matthew Williams. Womenswear presented in NY. 
Astrid Andersen, by Astrid Andersen. Menswear presented in London. 
Brandon Maxwell, by Brandon Maxwell. Womenswear presented in NY. 
Caitlin Price, by Caitlin Price. Womenswear presented in London. 
Cottweiler, by Ben Cottrell and Matthew Dainty. Menswear presented in London. 
Facetasm, by Hiromichi Ochiai. Womenswear and menswear presented in Tokyo. 
Feng Chen Wang, by Fengchen Wang. Menswear presented in London and NY. 
Koché, by Christelle Kocher. Womenswear and menswear presented in Paris. 
Koike, by Yuko Koike. Womenswear presented in Tokyo. 
Männistö, by Julia Männistö. Menswear presented in Berlin. 
Melitta Baumeister, by Melitta Baumeister. Womenswear presented in NY. 
Mikio Sakabe, by Mikio Sakabe. Womenswear and menswear presented in Tokyo. 
Moto Guo, by Moto Guo. Unisexwear presented in Florence and Paris. 
Ms Min, by Min Liu. Womenswear presented in London and Paris. 
Soshi Otsuki, by Soshi Otsuki. Menswear presented in Tokyo. 
Vaqar, by Shirin and Shiva Vaqar. Womenswear presented in Tehran. 
Vejas, by Vejas Kruszewski. Womenswear and menswear presented in NY. 
Wales Bonner, by Grace Wales Bonner. Womenswear and menswear presented in London. 
Wanda Nylon, by Johanna Senyk. Womenswear presented in Paris. 
Xu Zhi, by Xuzhi Chen. Womenswear presented in London. 
Y/Project, by Glenn Martens. Womenswear and menswear presented in Paris.

Photos: François Goizé.

The Jury will award the third annual LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers on June 16th at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris.

No comments:

Post a Comment